Former Tigers Oguchi Onyewu, Stuart Holden named to U.S. team for Gold Cup

U.S. National Team opens play on July 9 against Belize at Portland, Oregon

Stuart Holden (USA Soccer)

Stuart Holden (USA Soccer)

Former Clemson standouts Oguchi Onyewu and Stuart Holden have been named the U.S. National Soccer Team for next month's CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Also returning to the U.S. team for the first time in 11 months is former mainstay Landon Donovan.

Onyewu and Holden were among 23 players picked Thursday for the regional championship of North and Central America and the Caribbean.

The 32-yer-old Onyewu starred at Clemson during the 2000-01 seasons. A former starter in the middle of the defense for the U.S., Onyewu has played professionally in France, Belgium, Portugal, the Netherlands, England, Italy and Spain.

He made two league appearances and nine overall for Malaga (Spain) last season and has not played for the U.S. since the opening qualifier against Antigua in June last year.

Holden, who played at Clemson in 2003-04, has played professionally for the Houston Dynamo in the MLS and the Bolton Wanderers in the English Premier League.

U.S. coach Jurgen Klinsmann bypassed most of his Europe-based regulars, who are on vacation before their 2013-14 club seasons.

Ten players on the roster are from Major League Soccer, seven from European clubs and six from Mexican teams.

The Americans play Guatemala in an exhibition at San Diego on July 5, and then open the tournament against Belize at Portland, Ore., on July 9. They play Cuba at Salt Lake City four days later and close the first round against Costa Rica at East Hartford, Conn., on July 16.

The winners of the 2013 and 2015 Gold Cups will meet in a playoff for a berth in the 2017 Confederations Cup.

USA Roster

Goalkeepers: Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago), Nick Rimando (Salt Lake)

Defenders: Corey Ashe (Houston), DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla, Mexico), Tony Beltran (Salt Lake), Edgar Castillo (Tijuana, Mexico), Clarence Goodson (Brondby, Denmark), Oguchi Onyewu (Malaga, Spain), Michael Orozco (Puebla, Mexico), Michael Parkhurst (Augsburg, Germany)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Helsinborg, Sweden), Joe Corona (Tijuana, Mexico), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg, Norway), Joshua Gatt (Molde, Norway), Stuart Holden (Bolton, England), Jose Torres (Tigres, Mexico)

Forwards: Will Bruin (Houston), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles), Herculez Gomez (Tijuana. Mexico), Jack McInerney (Philadelphia), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose).

© 2013 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.