Vic Beasley, Sammy Watkins make Walter Camp All-America

Football - Vic Beasley

Photo by Mark Crammer

Football - Vic Beasley

NEW HAVEN, CT - Vic Beasley was named a first-team and Sammy Watkins second-team All-American by the Walter Camp Foundation Thursday night.

No. 1 Florida State put five on the teams, including Player of the Year Jameis Winston, while third-ranked Alabama and fifth-ranked Stanford each had three players selected to the first team, while Texas A&M and Texas each had two. In all, 19 different schools from six conferences were represented on the All-America First Team. The Big 12 Conference had the most First Team selections with seven, followed by the Pac 12 and Southeastern Conference with six each.

The Walter Camp All-America teams are selected by the head coaches and sports information directors of the 125 Football Bowl Subdivision schools and certified by Marcum LLP, a New Haven-based accounting firm. Walter Camp Football Foundation President James Monico was pleased with the voting participation.

“Once again, we had more than 80 percent of the FBS schools participate in this year’s voting,” Monico said. “We are very appreciative of the continuing cooperation of the coaches and sports information directors in our annual effort to honor the nation’s most outstanding college players.”

Leading the defensive unit is a repeat Walter Camp First Team All-American, linebacker C.J. Mosley (Alabama). Mosley has totaled 102 tackles for the Crimson Tide, who currently rank second in the nation in scoring defense (11.3 points allowed per game). Joining Mosley in the middle are senior linebackers Anthony Barr (UCLA) and Trent Murphy (Stanford). Murphy leads the nation with 14.0 quarterback sacks.

On the interior, three seniors – Aaron Donald (Pittsburgh), Michael Sam (Missouri) and Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas) – are joined by junior Vic Beasley (Clemson). Donald is the nation’s leader in tackles for loss with 26.5.

In the defensive secondary, senior Jason Verrett (TCU) is a First Team selection after earning Second Team accolades in 2012. He is joined in the secondary by seniors Darqueze Dennard (Michigan State), Lamarcus Joyner (Florida State) and Justin Gilbert (Oklahoma State).

The punter is freshman Austin Rehkew (Idaho), who leads the nation with a 47.8 yard-per-punt average. The kick returner is junior Ty Montgomery (Stanford), who has two kickoff returns for touchdowns this season.

Leading the offensive unit are two running backs – junior Ka’Deem Carey (Arizona) and senior Andre Williams (Boston College). A First Team All-American a year ago, Carey has rushed for 1,716 yards and 17 touchdowns for the Wildcats. Williams has scored 17 touchdowns while averaging a nation-leading 175.2 rushing yards per game.

The First Team quarterback is senior AJ McCarron (Alabama), who finished ahead of Winston in the All-American voting. McCarron has passed for 2,676 yards and 26 touchdowns this season. Winston is the second Second Team honoree who was voted Player of the Year (former Nebraska quarterback Eric Crouch was the 2001 Player of the Year and Second Team All-American quarterback).

Sophomore Mike Evans (Texas A&M) and junior Brandin Cooks (Oregon State) are the wide receivers. Evans has 65 catches for 1,322 yards and 12 touchdowns, while Cooks has 120 catches for 1,670 yards and 15 touchdowns. The tight end is Jace Amaro (Texas Tech).

On the offensive line, three seniors – David Yankey (Stanford), Cyril Richardson (Baylor) and Jake Matthews (Texas A&M) – are joined by junior Cyrus Louandjio (Alabama). Senior Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma) is the offensive center.

There was a tie for First Team placekicker as Anthony Fera (Texas) and Roberto Aguayo (Florida State) earned recognition. Fera has connected on 20-of-22 field goals, while Aguayo has converted 19-of-20 on the season.

The members of the 2013 All-America team, along with Player of the Year Winston and Coach of the Year David Cutcliffe (Duke), will be honored at the organization’s national awards banquet on Saturday, January 11, 2014 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. In addition, the Foundation will recognize three individuals – former Notre Dame and Washington Redskins quarterback Joe Theismann (Distinguished American), former Penn State and Oakland Raider standout lineman Matt Millen (Man of the Year) and former North Carolina All-American Ken Huff (Alumnus of the Year) – with major awards.

2013 Walter Camp All-America Teams

First Team Offense

Pos. Name, School Hgt Wgt Class Hometown

WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M 6-5 225 Soph. Galveston, TX

WR Brandin Cooks, Oregon State 5-10 186 Jr. Stockton, CA

TE Jace Amaro, Texas Tech 6-5 260 Jr. San Antonio, TX

OL Cyrus Louandjio, Alabama 6-6 310 Jr. Hyattsville, MD

OL Jake Matthews, Texas A&M # 6-5 305 Sr. Missouri City, TX

OL Cyril Richardson, Baylor 6-5 340 Sr. Fort Worth, TX

OL David Yankey, Stanford 6-5 313 Sr. Roswell, GA

C Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma 6-3 298 Sr. Oklahoma City, OK

QB AJ McCarron, Alabama 6-4 214 Sr. Mobile, AL

RB Ka’Deem Carey, Arizona 5-10 207 Jr. Tucson, AZ

RB Andre Williams, Boston College 6-0 227 Sr. Schnecksville, PA

PK Anthony Fera, Texas 6-2 208 Sr. Cypress, TX

PK Roberto Aguayo, Florida State 6-1 203 Fr. Mascotte, FL

First Team Defense

DL Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh 6-0 285 Sr. Pittsburgh, PA

DL Michael Sam, Missouri 6-2 255 Sr. Hitchcock, TX

DL Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas 6-5 250 Sr. Plano, TX

DL Vic Beasley, Clemson 6-2 235 Jr. Adairsville, GA

LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama* 6-2 238 Sr. Mobile, AL

LB Anthony Barr, UCLA 6-4 248 Sr. San Pedro, CA

LB Trent Murphy, Stanford 6-6 261 Sr. Mesa, AZ

DB Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State 5-11 197 Sr. Dry Branch, CA

DB Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State 5-8 190 Sr. Fort Lauderdale, FL

DB Jason Verrett, TCU # 5-10 176 Sr. Fairfield, CA

DB Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State 6-0 200 Sr. Huntsville, TX

P Austin Rehkow, Idaho 6-3 202 Fr. Veradale, WA

KR Ty Montgomery, Stanford 6-2 215 Jr. Dallas, TX

Second Team Offense

Pos. Name, School Hgt Wgt Class Hometown

WR Sammy Watkins, Clemson 6-1 205 Jr. Fort Myers, FL

WR Davante Adams, Fresno State 6-2 216 Soph. Palo Alto, CA

TE Eric Ebron, North Carolina 6-4 245 Jr. Greensboro, NC

OL Taylor Lewan, Michigan * 6-8 315 Sr. Cave Creek, AZ

OL Jack Mewhort, Ohio State 6-6 308 Sr. Toledo, OH

OL Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State 6-4 340 Sr. Liberty, MS

OL Cameron Erving, Florida State 6-6 320 Jr. Moultrie, GA

C Bryan Stork, Florida State 6-4 300 Sr. Vero Beach, FL

QB Jameis Winston, Florida State 6-4 228 Fr. Bessemer, AL

RB Bishop Sankey, Washington 5-10 203 Jr. Spokane, WA

RB Kapri Bibbs, Colorado State 5-11 203 Soph. Plainfield, IL

PK Jeff Budzien, Northwestern 5-11 175 Sr. Hartland, WA

© 2013 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Related Topics

Comments » 3

BrandonRink writes:

The most fun thing about this particular All-America is that Jameis Winston was the Walter Camp Player of the Year...and second-team QB.

tigerrob44 writes:

How do they pick the players for this team? Is is it based on their numbers or what zip code they are from. If it's based on numbers alone they have made some terrible mistakes.

cuGIZ82 writes:

Congrats to Vic and Sammy

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.