Walter Camp Award names Boyd as one of 15 picks for national player of the year

Nine quarterbacks on the list, including EJ Manuel of Florida State

Clemson Tigers quarterback Tajh Boyd (10) looks for an open receiver in the first quarter.

Clemson Tigers quarterback Tajh Boyd (10) looks for an open receiver in the first quarter.

New Haven, Conn. – The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of fifteen “Players to Watch” for its 2012 Player of the Year award, the fourth-oldest college football award in the nation.

The list includes Clemson's Tajh Boyd, as well as Florida State's EJ Manuel.

Players from each of the top five teams in the most recent BCS standings are on the list, including quarterback Collin Klein from top-ranked Kansas State, running back Kenjon Barner from second-ranked Oregon, linebacker Manti Te’o from third-ranked Notre Dame, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron and Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones.

The 15-player watch list includes nine quarterbacks, three running backs, two defensive players and one wide receiver.

The list includes quarterback Matt Barkley and receiver Marquise Lee of Southern Cal, quarterback Braxton Miller of Ohio State, running back Johnathan Franklin of UCLA, running back Montee Ball of Wisconsin, quarterback Colby Cameron of Louisiana Tech, and quarterback Teddy Bridgewater of Louisville.

“It’s been another exciting college football season with many teams and players still in the hunt for national recognition,” Foundation president John Marks said. “We’ve identified some outstanding players and we know the final weeks of the regular season should be even more thrilling.”

A list of five finalists will be announced on Wednesday, November 28.

The 2012 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be presented on Thursday, December 6 during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

The winner will receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on Saturday, January 12, 2013 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

© 2012 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.