Da'Quan Bowers, Jamie Harper honored as Tigers' 2010 MVPs

Gilchrist, Jenkins, Wade, McDaniel, Hairston named permanent team captains

Clemson running back Jamie Harper breaks away for a 63-yard touchdown run in the fourth quarter at BB&T Stadium in Winston-Salem, N.C.

Photo by Ken Ruinard

Clemson running back Jamie Harper breaks away for a 63-yard touchdown run in the fourth quarter at BB&T Stadium in Winston-Salem, N.C.

On their way to early exits to the National Football League, Da'Quan Bowers and Jamie Harper picked up Clemson's highest awards for the 2010 season during the Tigers' annual football awards banquet Saturday night at the Madren Center.

The event was held in conjunction with Clemson biggest official-visits weekend of the recruiting season.

Awards were presented for performance on the field, in the strength training facility and in the classroom.

Bowers was named MVP on defense and overall team MVP. The first-team unanimous All-American led the nation in quarterback sacks with 15.5 and was second in tackles for loss with 26. He established a school record with nine consecutive games with a sack and finished the season second on the team in tackles with 74.

Bowers, who won the Bronko Nagurski Award as the nation's top defensive player and the Ted Hendricks as the nation's best defensive end, is being widely projected as the likely No. 1 draft pick of the Carolina Panthers in April.

Harper – who, like Bowers, recently announced his intentions to enter the NFL draft - was honored as Clemson's offensive MVP. Harper led the team in rushing yards (760), yards from scrimmage (1088) and all-purpose yards (1131). He was second in touchdowns with 10 and had 35 receptions, second best in school history for a running back.

Punter Dawson Zimmerman was named specialist of the year, and Quandon Christian and DeAndre Hopkins were named rookies of the year. Joe Craig, Demont Buice, Bashaud Breeland and Ryan Pruitt were named scout team MVPs.

Marcus Gilchrist was honored as a Strength and Conditioning All-American and was named as a permanent team captain, as were Jarvis Jenkins, Chris Hairston, Mike Wade and DeAndre McDaniel.

Clemson Football Awards, 2010

Offensive Awards

Offensive Solid Rock Awards

Running Back - Andre Ellington

Wide Receiver - Jaron Brown

Tight End - Dwayne Allen

Quarterback - Kyle Parker

Offensive Line - Chris Hairston

Hustle Award - Chad Diehl

12th Man Award - Mason Cloy and Brandon Ford

Iron Man Award - Landon Walker

Rookie of the Year - DeAndre Hopkins

Future Impact Player - Tajh Boyd

Special Teams - Mike Wade

Scout Team Player - Joe Craig and Demont Buice

MVP - Jamie Harper

Defensive Awards

Defensive Solid Rock Awards

Defensive Back - Marcus Gilchrist

Defensive Tackle - Jarvis Jenkins

Defensive End - Andre Branch

Linebacker - Corico Hawkins

Hustle Award - Rashard Hall

12th Man Award - Xavier Brewer

Iron Man Award - DeAndre McDaniel

Rookie of the Year - Quandon Christian

Future Impact Player - Mallicah Goodman

Special Teams - Byron Maxwell

Scout Team - Bashaud Breeland and Ryan Pruitt

Most Valuable - Da’Quan Bowers

Specialist of the Year - Dawson Zimmerman, Punter

Overall Team MVP - Da’Quan Bowers

Academic Awards

Highest GPA Freshman - Chandler Catanzaro

Highest GPA Sophomore - Matt Skinner

Highest GPA Junior - Brandon Maye

Highest GPA Senior - Caleb Simmons

Highest GPTA Team - Dawson Zimmerman

Vickery Hall Awards - Antoine McClain, Tyler Shatley, Tig Willard, Andre Ellington

Spiritual Leadership Award - Xavier Dye

Strength Training Awards

Strength All-American - Marcus Gilchrist

Strength Dedication Award - Marcus Gilchrist and Chad Diehl

Permanent Captains - Marcus Gilchrist, Chris Hairston, Jarvis Jenkins, DeAndre McDaniel, Mike Wade

© 2011 OrangeAndWhite.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Related Topics

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Comments can be shared on Facebook and Yahoo!. Add both options by connecting your profiles.